My impressions of Facebook’s news feed redesign & what it means

Gigaom

My skepticism about Facebook (s fb) is pretty well known. I have found them to be a company that plays loose and easy with people and makes decisions that are not always in their users’ best interest. So yesterday when they announced the news feed redesign, I was a little bemused. My initial reaction: while Google is trying to make the physical world searchable, Facebook is adding a “category menu” to its feed.

Then a friend emailed and said that I was being too harsh because they are, after all, catering to a billion people, are a publicly traded company and are under attack from all sides by more nimble, smarter startups that are taking attention away from them. Fair enough: I decided that I would give them a fair shake whenever I got access to the redesigned news feed.

Facebook News Feed Redesign March 2013

Given the planet-long wait list, I didn’t sign up…

View original post 1,045 more words

Leave a Reply

